Board meeting, May 14th, 2015

Board members present

  • Bdale Garbee (bdale) (President)
  • Joerg Jaspert (Ganneff) (Vice President)
  • Michael Schultheiss (schultmc) (Treasurer)
  • Martin Michlmayr (tbm) (Secretary)
  • Joshua D. Drake (linuxhiker)
  • Jonathan McDowell (Noodles)
  • Gregers Petersen (glp)
  • Martin Zobel-Helas (zobel)

Board members partially present

  • None

Board members absent with regrets

  • Robert Brockway (Solver)

Board members absent

  • None

Board advisors present

  • None

Registered guests present

  • None

These are the minutes for the May 14th, 2015 SPI Board Meeting, held at 20:30 UTC in #spi on LOG.

President's Report

Bdale Garbee has started investigating whether it makes sense for SPI to enter into a contract with a third-party management organization for key office and financial services, similarly to what the CELF Board did a few years ago.

Treasurer's report

Michael Schultheiss has published the March and April treasurer's reports. He thanked the Craigslist Foundation for their generous donation of $50,000 ($25,000 to SPI and $25,000 to PostgreSQL). The Debian Project also received a $20,000 donation from a periodic donor.

Martin Michlmayr asked whether an extension for the tax return had been filed because it would otherwise be due on May 15th. Michael confirmed that an extension had been applied for and that SPI's 990 would be filed by August 15th.

Martin Michlmayr asked whether 990 tax forms for previous years could be added to the web site and Michael promised to add them.

Secretary's report

Martin Michlmayr has updated the trademark page and completed the outstanding minutes.

Outstanding minutes

Vote on Meeting Minutes for 12th March 2015:

Joshua D. DrakeYes
Bdale GarbeeYes
Joerg JaspertAbstain
Jonathan McDowellAbstain
Martin MichlmayrYes
Gregers PetersenYes
Michael SchultheissYes
Martin Zobel-HelasYes

Motion passed with a vote of 6 yes, 2 abstain, 0 missing.

Vote on Meeting Minutes for 9th April 2015:

Joshua D. DrakeYes
Bdale GarbeeAbstain
Joerg JaspertYes
Jonathan McDowellYes
Martin MichlmayrYes
Gregers PetersenYes
Michael SchultheissYes
Martin Zobel-HelasAbstain

Motion passed with a vote of 6 yes, 2 abstain, 0 missing.

Any other business

Martin Michlmayr asked whether anyone had suggested a BOF for DebConf. Bdale Garbee believed that he had done so but he would double check.

Martin Zobel-Helas noted that Debian had a new project leaders, Neil McGovern, a former SPI Secretary.

Jonathan McDowell reminded the Board that elections were coming up in just over a month. The terms of Jonathan McDowell and Michael Schultheiss will expire in July. Jonathan is not planning to stand again. Bdale thanked Jonathan for his service. Michael is planning to stand again.

Bdale asked whether there were any questions or comments about his reported activity looking at paid help alternatives for bookkeeping and other office functions. There was some conversation about the amount of work of these activities and what had to be done exactly. The Board agreed to continue the conversation offline.


The meeting was adjourned until Thursday, June 11th, 2015 at 20:30 UTC in #spi on

Appendix A: Current Board Membership

Last electedNameRole
July 2013Bdale GarbeePresident
July 2013Joerg JaspertVice President
July 2014Martin MichlmayrSecretary
July 2012Michael SchultheissTreasurer
July 2012Jonathan McDowell
July 2013Joshua D. Drake
July 2013Martin Zobel-Helas
July 2014Robert Brockway
July 2014Gregers Petersen